Forest WalkFrom at least the early 1980’s, CBSAR was a loosely organized Team.

We have a photocopy of page 1 and 9 of the Chronicle and Pilot published on May 10, 1985 titled “Gothic avalanche injures local man.” Eric Davis and Jack Marcial were mentioned as the CBSAR people involved with the rescue.

On May 4, 1988, Articles of Incorporation were signed by then-President, Paul S. Barnett, and sent to the Colorado Secretary of State, Natalie Meyer, with Bylaws and an attachment listing the nine Directors.

On May 5, 1988, Natalie Meyer prepared and signed a “Certificate of Incorporation to Crested Butte Search and Rescue, Inc., a nonprofit corporation.”

In addition to Barnett, other Members of the Board at that time (as noted in the Articles) were:

Eric Davis, Rat Street, Donna Barnett, Richard Raymond, Jeff Pflegar, B. C. Wasley, Rogar Morris, and Scott Wimmer.

CBSAR applied for and received an Employer Identification Number (EIN) 74-2504794 dated July 18, 1988 from the Internal Revenue Service in Austin, Texas.

Later in 1988, an Application was sent to the IRS requesting non-profit status under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3). A “Ruling Letter” granting such status was dated December 1988.

CBSAR has remained in good standing with the IRS and the State of Colorado.

In 1990, the cache building was donated to CBSAR by the Crested Butte Mountain Resort, and then moved from Mt. Crested Butte to its present location on land made available by the Town of Crested Butte.

Crested Butte Search and Rescue, Inc. was originally Certified by MRA in 1991. As the MRA requires that teams be re-examined at least every five years, CBSAR was re-examined and re-certified in 1996, 2001, and 2006. Though no longer certified, Crested Butte Search and Rescue remains an Associate Member of the MRA.

Existing Restated Bylaws were adopted on November 14, 2000 and the only Amendment to these was executed February 5, 2002 per action of the Board of Directors and signed by Jeffrey E. Isaac President, and Robert J. Wojtalik, Vice-President.